Ronaldo wins player of the year award

Portugal and Real Madrid man Cristiano Ronaldo has triumphed over Lionel Messi for the second consecutive year and has won his third Fifa Balon D’ Or award. Ronaldo has been voted as the best player in World football ahead of Messi and German super keeper Manuel Neuer and his victory was announced in an official FIFA ceremony held in Zurich, Switzerland.

The voting panel comprises of captains and coaches of all national football teams, as well as well recognized names from the press and media. Upon receiving the award, Ronaldo expressed his gratitude to his voters. The Portuguese super star said that the past year has been a great one for him, and he would want to keep going like that.

Ronaldo says that he wants to keep learning and improving, and becoming better every day.

“I want to become one of the greatest players of all time,I never thought that I would bring this trophy back home on three occasions.”, Ronaldo said at the awards.

In 2008,Christiano grabbed his first Ballon d’ Or award, when he was a Manchester United player, and had to wait 5 years for his next one, when he won it in 2013. The third Ballon d’ Or won by Ronaldo is the 39th Ballon d’ Or in FIFA history.

Ronaldo scored a staggering 56 goals in 51 appearances for Real Madrid in the 2013, 2014 season, and netted 61 in 60 games in 2014. His performances throughout the 2013/14 UEFA Champions League were vital behind Ancelotti’s side successfully completing the La Decima and winning their 10th Champions League title.

Adding to that, Christiano Ronaldo also set a new record for the most number of La Liga hattricks of all times. His trio against Celta Vigo took his hat trick tally to 23, the most by any player in La Liga, ahead of the likes of Telmo Zarra and Alfredo di Stefano.
The 2014/15 season isn’t going any different than the last one. The Portuguese superstar has scored an unbelievable 26 goals in just 17 games in the La Liga for his club, who currently reside on the top.

Ronaldo’s Ballon d’ Or rival Lionel Messi, who won the award for 4 consecutive years from 2009-2012, said that this year it was going to be tough, because both Ronaldo and Neuer were exceptional throughout. Manuel Neuer was arguably the biggest influence behind Germany’s World Cup triumph in 2014. The sensational German goal keeper conceded just 40 goals in 62 matches in 2014.